The following constitutes general information; not legal advice. The Attorney can give you no opinions unless retained. She is not your attorney because you visited this website. You remain responsible for all statutes of limitations until you retain counsel.
I just got fired. When do I get my final check?
Under Arizona law as of August 2, 2012, within seven working days or the next regular payday, whichever comes first.
I just quit. When do I get my final check?
Under Arizona law, by the next regular payday.
Do I get overtime pay if I work more than 40 hours in a week?
It depends if you are covered by the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Here are some issues:
- Did you actually work more than 40 hours in a workweek? Paid or unpaid time off – even for holidays –does not count.
- Are you a professional, executive, administrative or outside sales exempt employee? There are strict standards for these types of salaried positions.
- Is your industry or position exempt from overtime?
Want to know more? Please call at 480-905-5810 or fill out the Consultation Intake Form on the home page.
My employer did not pay me overtime and I worked more than 40 hours – what can I do?
You have a choice. You can file a complaint with the U.S. Department of Labor (www.dol.gov) or you can file a lawsuit against your employer. There is a two year statute of limitations which is extended to three years if your employer willfully violated the FLSA. You may have other choices as well. Please call at 480-905-5810 or fill out the Consultation Intake Form on the home page.